Frequently Asked Questions
What if someone files a float plan and then changes his mind, or some other factor affects his final destination - or maybe a different route takes twice as long?
Does the Float Plan allow for this?
- It does. There is a 4 hour window between the first and second messages. The first message is a reminder that you are due back soon.
Float Plans can be cancelled at any time using the dashboard. Just click the link to the right of the float plan. When a float plan is cancelled an email will be sent to the contacts informing them that the float plan has been cancelled.
If the Float Plan is not closed/checked-in by the set arrival time; overdue messages will be sent to the contacts on the plan. The first message is sent when the float plan misses the arrival time.
Additional messages are sent starting at 4 hours overdue. After that messages are sent every half hour until the float plan is closed/Checked-in or cancelled.
What should I do when I get back to port? How do I close my Float Plan?
- Make sure to Check-In as soon as you return to port. You can check-in by clicking the link in the email you were sent when you filed your float plan or you can use the Dashboard to check-in. Just click the
link to the right of your float plan.
What happens if I don't Check-in by my set Arrival Time?
Overdue email messages will be sent to the contacts listed on your Float Plan.
This is the first message sent if the Float Plan is not closed by the set Arrival Time:
Hello Contact Name,
This is a reminder message to let you know that UserName is now due back in port. At this time there is no need for concern. If UserName does not check in during the next 4 hours you will begin to receive overdue messages and will continue to receive them until UserName does check in and closes out their Float Plan.
Instructions are on page 3 of the attached Float Plan.
A reminder email has also been sent to UserName at userEmail.
Follow-up messages are sent beginning 4 hours after the arrival time has passed. They are sent every half hour until the float plan is closed.
Hello Contact Name,
UserName has not checked in and is now AmtOverdue hrs. overdue.
If you feel that this is an emergency, we strongly suggest that you follow the instructions on page 3 of the attached Float Plan immediately. If you are not sure on how to proceed the rescue authority listed on the float plan can guide you.
A reminder email has been sent to UserName at UserEmail
You will continue to receive these messages until UserName checks in and closes out this Float Plan.